Covered California is where Californians can get brand-name health insurance under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. It’s the only place to get federal premium assistance to help you buy health insurance from some of the major health insurance companies. That means you may qualify for a discount on a health plan through Covered California.
Serra Benefits has been certified with Covered California. Call us to enroll you in-person or via phone.
Applications for Covered California health insurance plans are accepted each year during open enrollment, between Nov. 1 and Jan. 31. Outside of that time, you can enroll in a plan only if you have a life event that qualifies you for a special enrollment period.
Consumers who experience a qualifying life event can enroll in a Covered California health insurance plan even outside of the open-enrollment period. This is called special enrollment. Below is a list of common qualifying life events for special enrollment that apply year-round.
- Losing health coverage. For example: consumers who no longer qualify for Medi-Cal, or who lose health coverage through their job or spouse’s job.
- Income changes so much that a current Covered California enrollee becomes newly eligible or ineligible for help paying for their insurance.
- Turning 26 years old and no longer being eligible to stay on a parent’s plan.
- Moving. For example: moving to California from another state or moving to a new region within California that allows a current consumer to gain access to new Covered California health insurance plans.
- Having a child or adopting a child, receiving a child into foster care, or placing a child in adoption or in a foster home.
- Getting married or entering into a domestic partnership.
Due Dates to Enroll after a Qualifying Life Event
Consumers have 60 days from the date on which the qualifying life event happens to enroll in a Covered California health insurance plan or change their existing Covered California plan. For example, if a consumer has a child on June 1, they have until July 31 to notify Covered California, complete an application for their new child, choose a health plan and pay for it. If they do not get health coverage for their child, they may have to pay a tax penalty. If 60 days pass and consumers do not sign up for health coverage, they will have to wait until the next open-enrollment period unless they experience another qualifying life event.
If you have any questions on polices or have additional questions before get a free quote, please contact our offices today.
403 N. Freeman Street
Oceanside, CA 92054
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com
CA License Number: 0C175088